Crooked River Lighthouse

Crooked River Lighthouse

Museum  and Gift Shop Hours:
Sunday - 11 am - 5 pm.
Monday - 11 am - 5 pm.
Wednesday thru Saturday - 11 -5 pm. Closed Tuesdays.

Also open extended hours during special events including Country Market (1st, 3rd, & 5th Sat 9 am - 1 pm) as well as monthly Full Moon events and other special events (see website for schedule).

Nestled in a North Florida forest habitat, the lighthouse beams nightly, with a replica of its original 4th order Fresnel lens.  This 103 foot iron and steel structure is the tallest lighthouse on the Forgotten Coast. It was built in 1895 to guide ships through East Pass between Dog Island and St. George Island and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is still a working, private aid to navigation to this day.

The reconstructed Keeper’s House is a museum that features the Crooked River Lighthouse's historic bi-valve Fresnel lens, history and science exhibits, artifacts, and a gift shop. The history and the science of the lighthouse are interpreted via fascinating exhibits and an educational movie. Exhibits include the lighthouse's original, historic bi-valve Fresnel lens, a historical setting of the early 1900’s, examples of beacons and the methods of constructing a skeletal tower lighthouse.  Everyday life objects in the Keeper’s Room include its original clocks, a barometer, a glass fire grenade, pages from the keeper’s watch book, currency and much more.  Visitors can look through replica Sears’ catalogues for a perspective on the cost of living during the past century.  Browse the gift shop full of nautical, maritime and lighthouse-themed art, jewelry, souvenirs, and gifts.

Enjoy a climb to the top of the Lighthouse tower any day we are open (weather permitting). Last climb of the day must start 1 hr before closing. $6 for adults (age 13+) and $3 for youth (5-12 yrs). Must be 44 inches or taller to climb.

The park picnic area features picnic tables, picnic shelters and a small playground. Rebuilding of the wooden Pirate Ship playground and stage is underway. This will replace The Carrabella which was lost to arson in 2015.

Plus join us at our special events - Country Farmer's Market every 1st, 3rd, & 5th Saturday from 9 am - 1 pm. Full Moon Events every month with night climbs and some with live music (special pricing). And don't miss the Lantern Fest in November and Crooked River Park Day in February.

Park grounds, including picnic area and small playground area, are open dawn to dusk. Museum hours: Su, M, W-Sa 11-5. Climbing on Su, M, W-Sa 11-4.  (weather permitting). The Crooked River Lighthouse, located at 1975 Hwy 98 West in Carrabelle, is 2 miles west of the Carrabelle Bridge. (850) 697-2732 or carrabellelighthouse@gmail.com.  

++++

History: The Crooked River Lighthouse was built in 1895 to replace one on Dog Island that was destroyed in a hurricane in 1873. Authorities decided it would be better to have a lighthouse on the secure mainland rather than the exposed Dog Island.  Electricity came to the lighthouse in 1933 and it became automated in 1952. The 4th order bi-valve Fresnel lens was built in 1894 in Paris, France. The lens was removed from service in 1976 by the Coast Guard and replaced with a modern optic. The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1995. The lighthouse sat forlorn and isolated for a few years.  In 1999 a group of local residents formed the Carrabelle Lighthouse Association (CLA) and the City of Carrabelle obtained ownership of the landmark just weeks before being auctioned and created a public park surrounding it.  Private and public financial support enabled the restoration of the structure to be completed in December 2007. The lens was returned to the Crooked River Lighthouse in 2020 and is now on display in the Keeper's House Museum.

On Mother's Day morning in 2015 our beloved Pirate Ship Carrabella playground was destroyed by fire. It was a favorite place to play for many of our local children, a popular site for pirate themed birthday parties and a very popular place to visit for both children and adults from all over the country. The ship was also the stage and often the inspiration for performances at our fall Lantern Fest. Many people have expressed a desire to help the Carrabelle Lighthouse Association to rebuild the pirate ship and that processes is well underway.

Carrabelle Lighthouse Association is a 501c3 non-profit corporation. The Crooked River Lighthouse Museum is funded, in part, by the Franklin County Tourist Development Council.

Like and follow the Crooked River Lighthouse on Facebook for all their fun, family friendly events throughout the year.

Click here to watch a wonderful video from The Florida Channel

Categories: Associations/OrganizationsHistoryMuseums & AttractionsParksShopping